Module madness

Between the 24th and the 28th of march I have to make the final decision about what (3) optional modules I want to take next year. Currently I have the options as followed from their webpage :

  • AQUATIC ECOLOGY
  • BEHAVIOURAL ECOLOGY
  • EVOLUTIONARY BIOLOGY
  • HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY
  • MICROBIOLOGY
  • PLANT BIOLOGY
  • SOIL PROCESSES AND ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES

Hmm… They are all very interesting, but some of them I have less interest in than others. For instance, do I really need to be learning about human physiology and several organ systems when I am studying ecology? More for people planning on doing medicine and biochemistry maybe? Also, I know close to nothing about Soil Processes and geology (I bet mum and dad are getting excited now right?). Seems kinda boring as well. I mean. Soil. Is this what my life has come to? However, maybe knowing more about the abiotic environment could be important as an ecologist-to-be out in the field. The soil is one of the fundamental factors that determine vegetation structure and thus the habitat structure and what animals live there. But I’ll be stuck with all the hardcore geologists and environmental science people who already have had a years experience within this field. Microbiology is also one of those fields that I kind of lose hope in as well. Tiny things are too boring (and often really hard to understand) 😛 I want the bigger picture, not just a blob under the microscope. But maybe microbiology is the future?

Modules that are more than tempting are Behavioural Biology, Aquatic Ecology and evolutionary Ecology, as it they seem really interesting (and acheiveble). How predictable am I ? 😛 At the same time Plant Biology might be something? Pretty colourful flowers 😛 Haha, I doubt it. The module description includes words such as studying them from a molecular genetics, biochemical and physiological perspective. Again, I am going to be thrown into a module with biochemists and genetisists, and I know NOTHING of that sort. 

At the same time, I don’t want to shut any doors for next year and get myself into a corner. I need subjects that are going to make the transition from second to third year a natural process. At the same time, I am at uni. I don’t need to know everything anymore. Maybe it’s time to actually close some doors that I know I’ll never go down anyway. Oh good.. I don’t know what to do.. I don’t even know if I am going to make it this year. Help.

Leave a Reply

