Week in Oslo!

Soo as I said in my last post, I unfortunately turned ill during my time in Oslo. Luckily though, by the end we managed to do some activities! I have a ton of photos too, haha, so bear with me! This post may end up being quite long 😛 On the Sunday my Dad, Carolyn and I went out for a walk to see the Palace, followed by a walk along Aker Brygge and a lovely Italian in one of the restaurants called Olivia by the seafront before heading home. It was pleasant and relaxing, not too busy as it was Sunday evening.

CIMG3758

CIMG3764

CIMG3767

CIMG3771

CIMG3773

CIMG3776

IMG_0567

CIMG3784

CIMG3783

CIMG3785

The next day we decided to go and have a look at the Opera House, a spectacular building with a modern architecture. They were promoting some of their ballet and opera shows outside the building with stunning photography from the shows, and it made me really want to go see one of them!

CIMG3818

CIMG3815

CIMG3813

CIMG3812

CIMG3807

CIMG3810

CIMG3809

CIMG3795

IMG_0596

Later that day we went to the Kon-Tiki Museum from the Opera House by travelling on a Hop on Hop off boat ride for tourists! Have you readers seen the Kon-Tiki film about the Norwegian Thor Heyerdahl who went out to prove that the Polynesian Islands were settled by humans from the east (South America) by drifting on rafts. He proved it was possible by himself taking on this journey and drifting on a raft called Kon-Tiki (built in the same style as the original settlers would have sailed) for 101 days before the appropriate destination. If you haven’t seen the film I recommend it!

CIMG3827

CIMG3829

Brother sparrow from Eleanor Charnock on Vimeo.

IMG_0666

On the last day we spent the entire afternoon in Vigelandspark. That man.. Wow, what a guy with a vision! He must have worked so hard to make all those amazing statues. The theme, as I interpretated it was about emitions, family relationships, and life and death. His capture on the subject was amazing, I felt their feelings and I could related too the statues’ situation. Later in the evening we had an Indian at what I believe is probably one of Oslo’s best Indian Restaurants called the Jewel of India. The food was delicios, and the atmosphere and interior of the restaurant made it feel like I was in fact no longer in Norway, but in India itself!

CIMG3882

CIMG3884

CIMG3900a

CIMG3911

CIMG3901

CIMG3862

CIMG3902

CIMG3895

CIMG3892

CIMG3899

CIMG3908

CIMG3916

CIMG3924

CIMG3923

CIMG3929

CIMG3921

CIMG3927

CIMG3930

CIMG3919

CIMG3859

CIMG3885

Oh and on the plane ride home, I was blessed with beautiful views from the sky of.. well.. look for yourself! Shame my window was a bit dirty though!

3 thoughts on “Week in Oslo!

  1. Pingback: Sydney with Mum & Carolyn: Botanical gardens, Bondi Beach and Westfield Tower | The Fledgling

Leave a Reply

