The Tall Ships Races in Bergen

What an amazing week this has been! Day after day of clear blue skies, intense sun and temperatures of up to 33 degrees! In Bergen? I can’t believe it! I have happily enjoyed this shocking weather by trying to gain a tan, and my patience has startet to pay off in terms of a sunburn. Haha. However, I can’t complain though! The weather is just too amazing!

Yesterday I ditched the home life of sunbathing, painting (the house) and grasses and took a trip into town to experience the Tall Ships Races in Bergen. The Tall Ships Races is an annual race for tall ships that is held in European waters and consist of several racing legs. This year the route includes Bergen as a host Port, after visiting Harlingen (NL), Fredrikstad (N), and next Esbjerg (DK). The races are designed to encourage international friendship and training for young people in the art of sailing.

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Bergen yesterday was Bergen at it’s best! It was bustling with life, with happy people, both old and young! There was something there for everyone to see! I loved seeing all the older people who were wearing their old sailing uniforms and dancing to street music with their wives in the streets. There were kids everywhere at different stalls building Lego, playing games, building ships and much more! Street artists and local bands and orchestras of all types were out offering their music, expecting nothing but smiles in return. Official concert points with stages were showing artist playing everything from sea shanties to hip hop and rap. There were people sitting outside in the sunshine drinking beer and drinks everywhere, enjoying a lovely lunch, and battling the heat. Curious people were allowed on ships to look around, take photos and savouring the day. There were young sailors and marines walking around enjoying a break and taking in the lovely town of Bergen.

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

My knowledge of ships is quite limited. All I know is that they use the wind to move forward. However, although I couldn’t tell the difference between a winner and a looser I could when getting close appreciate these old masterpieces and the craftsmanship behind these amazing boats. We got to see Bergen’s pride, the Statsråd Lemkuhl, and we also got to go onboard a russian ship which happened to be the tallest of the lot. I bought a card for my Grandfather who I wish to write to to tell about my day, as he would have literally been in heaven if he was here in Bergen yesterday, having been a sailor and a life long ship and ocean lover.

10568878_806389976057899_6723978364727934920_n

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Our visit on the Russian Kruzenshtern, the tallest ship there, and it was very interesting!

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

Tall Ships Races Bergen 2014

8 thoughts on “The Tall Ships Races in Bergen

  1. Great pictures!
    I love how documented the atmosphere.
    Thank you.
    Are you the one in the white dress?
    All the best
    Klausbernd and Dina and Siri and Selma, the nautical Bookfayries
    And last not least, thanks a lot for commenting on our blog about the tall ships and the figureheads 🙂

  2. Cool! Looks like the weather in Bergen is amazing as well these days 🙂 I love your dress!

    I also think I visited that Kruzenshtern once in Tromsø when I studied there, and it came to town o.o

  3. Hi! I was there too and reading your blog took me to feeling the same happiness I felt that weekend. I am now writing an article on my beautiful trip to Norway. What a beautiful country.

Leave a Reply

