Tofu, Butternut squash and mango curry

I have tried yet another recipe! I am actually really getting into my cooking this semester! I have tried Quorn and tofu and lots of vegetarian and vegan recipes, and it feels good trying a bit more unusual and healthy (and it especially makes me feel a little better when I feel like a take away or something bad). This recipe is my introduction to tofu, and I must say I didn’t actually mind it! I know there are mixed views on this weird meat substitute, some really like it and some hate it! It is actually just coagulated soy milk which is made with soy beans that is compressed into blocks! It’s a protein rich food source for vegetarians, and is versatile in use, being quite subtle in taste it is easy to season or marinate appropriately for the dish. Ingredients for two (altered recipe found from BBC’s Good Food website, link):

  • 1/2 Butternut Squash
  • 140g firm tofu (I used Cauldron)
  • Tescos ready cut mango chunks
  • 2 portions of rice for two people
  • 1 onion
  • 1 cm piece of ginger
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Lemon grass paste
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • Coconut milk
  • Spices:
    • 1/2 tsp turmeric
    • 1/2 ground cumin
    • 1/2 ground coriander
  • 200 g spinach
  • Lemon juice
  • olive oil

IMG_5607

So basically, I pre-heated the oven at 200 degrees and then grilled the squash (which I cut into mouth sized pieces) for 15 min until almost soft. I also cut the tofu into cubes and fried until golden brown, and then put aside. I then chopped up my onion and started frying it until soft before adding the finely chopped chilli, garlic and ginger, spices and a dash of lemon grass paste!  Then I tipped the mango, butternut squash and poured over the coconut milk and stirred! I then added the tofu and some lemon juice. In addition to this I had boiled some rice as well!

IMG_5605

I really enjoyed this dish and have made it several times, but David wasn’t was impressed! Oh well, we all can’t like everything! Definitely recommend having a go at this though, it’s a nice and easy way to start trying to use tofu!

IMG_5606

IMG_5604

Leave a Reply

