Studying

I’m currently sitting in the library with Steph, and although I planned a highly efficient and successful session, my mind quickly turned to mush. So, I decided to write a little blog post instead to take (a little longer) break as it dawned on me I have barely mentioned anything about the academic side of university for a while! I am half way into my second year at uni now and the new modules I’m facing I am finding challenging in new ways. However, I feel a little calmer this year compared to last year. I am already storming towards exams, and have already completed a set of modules from last semester! So far I have completed (apart from the exams in May) the modules Aquatic Ecology, Field Ecology, and Population Ecology and Management. This second  semester I am studying Conservation, Ecology and Biodiversity in the Tropics, Behavioural Ecology and Community, Ecosystem and Macro-Ecology! Pheew, long names aren’t they? My favourite module so far has been Aquatic Ecology as the lecturer was so friendly and the module included lots of field trips and lab based work, with really interesting and appealing topics! My least favourite has so far been the Populations module, which is a very different approach to learning with more theoretical material and statistical programs! I have to be honest, I struggled in that module and am not looking forward to the exam in it in spring!

DSC_2413

My approach to this semester is to work a lot harder! Not that I have noticed any progress, I still definitely feel a lot prouder for at least trying to get myself to the library and try and do some work! Hopefully if I keep at it, it will eventually pay off! Doing something is better than doing nothing! Lately things haven’t been so hectic, and I am therefore focusing on starting my exam revision! I have currently also started planning a big project for my behavioural module! I am in a group of 5 and we are planning to study inter specific behaviour between great tits and blue tits and hope to observe how dominant species will pressure subordinate species to take higher risks when it comes to choosing between an exposed and unexposed feeding ground. Hopefully it will be an amazingly successful hypothesis and all the data will fit perfectly our predicted graphs, but in reality it most likely won’t at all, and we are going to have to put in a lot of time and hard work to make a good project! Haha, here is a silly photo of the group at the exposed feeding ground that steph and I made!

IMG_8486

Speaking of birds! I just have to show you these photos David took on a little bird ringing session he attended this week at UEA. He asked to borrow my camera to take some photos as he needs them for some coursework relating to blogging about UEA wildlife! So if you are interested, you could check out his blog! I really wanted to go, but something came up and I couldn’t make it! I am definitely planning on going to the next sessions though, if the organiser plans some more again. Hopefully he will! Love getting up and close to wildlife like that!

IMG_5743

IMG_5745

IMG_5752

IMG_5747

Leave a Reply

