Omelette muffins

I read about a million blogs, and I recently found a post suggesting these cute little omelette muffins, perfect for the lunch box or as a snack. The recipe was incredibly easy and I would definitely make them again. A nice way of using up vegetables that wouldn’t otherwise suffice for making a whole meal. I needed to use up:

  • Mushrooms
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Red Onion
  • Spring Onion
  • Tomato

In addition to this you need about 8 eggs, single cream, cheese, and salt and pepper! To make this I just chopped up all my veg into small pieces and added them to a muffin tray (i filled each one til about half full) that I had smeared with some butter so to avoid the muffins sticking to the tray. In addition to this I whipped the eggs with cream (about 1 tsp pr egg) and mixed in the salt and pepper (you could add other spices too, like a bit of chilli for example!). I then filled the muffin forms with the egg mix almost to the top and sprinkled with cheese. Lastly I put them in the oven that was preheated at 200 degrees and left them there for about 25 minutes until they were golden brown. They did rise quite a lot in the oven, and I panicked a bit, but when I took them out of the oven when they were done they sank down again!

IMG_5612

IMG_5621

IMG_5616

IMG_5615

I thought the finished product was really tasty and I would definitely make them again!

Leave a Reply

