Swaziland part 2

On one of the first days we got to go an a local tour around the Lobamba village during one of the more vibrant days of the year, namely good Friday. The locals were dressed beautifully in coloruful costumes and I’m gonna assume national costumes. Everyone was so friendly and happy, and the guide told us lots about their customs and culture. In Swaziland most men have more than one wife! Very different, and to me it seems completely wrong and impossible to understand, but I guess it’s their culture and history and to some degree you just have to respect that (as long as the women there are treated well and can chose to enter the marriage themselves, which tbh I don’t really know much about for that country). The local church had hundreds of people outside singing and traditional rituals. One of which we got to witness, several men sitting in a ring chanting to reach a point of outer body experience. We kept walking and came across a choir promoting their CD with a live performance!

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Afterwards the guide took us further into the village where we got to meet some of the locals! We were offered local brewed beer and meet some adorable kids! It was surreal the way they ran up to us and wanted to hold our hands and get their photos taken. They were so happy and it felt weird, cause it felt like they had so little, if not anything. They were laughing and playing and smiling. Absolutely heart warming. Afterwards, the guide took us to a place that prepared us a barbecue where they served chicken, sausage and pork with pap and salad. Pap is a traditional food made from mielie-meal (ground maize) and looks like a sort of mash potato but with a thicker consistency and different taste.

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

After our guided tour we walked up one of the mountains called Sheba’s breast that overlooked the Ezulwini valley which our lodge is in. The hike was so so strenuous as I am so unfit. Lucky for me though my friend Jeff was such a gentleman and stayed with me for the entire hike to the top to make sure I was fine! The combination of heat, humidity and my general fitness made it all a bit too much to be honest. My batman shaped sweat patch on my but was definitely amusing though, and gave me the name “batters” for the rest of the trip. Haha, all in good spirit, I don’t really get embarrassed easily and I just found it funny. I also managed to bash my head into a tree by accident and gave myself some lovely scars for the majority of the rest of the trip. The view at the top was worth it though, and on the way we spotted a rock hyrax, a species closely related to elephants!

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Swaziland

Leave a Reply

