48 hours of 17th May

Yesterday was the 17th of May, Norway’s national day, and I had decided to treat my friends to a bit of a cultural experience and host a little 17th of May day myself! The itinerary included a traditional breakfast, watching the parade on NRK/bt, a walk round the lake at UEA, a nice local quisine from Bergen for dinner and a Norwegian film. Unfortunately the day before my house mates and I decided to embrace the russ traditions and go oute, so the next morning we were a tad more hungover than we had planed for. We managed the breakfast and the walk, but by the afternoon we were all pretty dun in! We decided to postpone the rest of the day for tomorrow, when we were more up for it! We weren’t a large group, it was predominantly my house mates, but also my two dearest friends Maya and Steph. The breakfast was a lovely spread of different yummy things, including paté, ham, cheese and smoked salmon with scrambled egg, with slices of pepper, cucumber and cherry tomatos to go on top! In addition to this my Mum had been sweet and sent me some Norwegian treats from back home to introduce to my friends: brunost and vossafår (salami from Voss). I also got some mini muffins and strawberries for dessert, to go with the Cava I bought, but we were not up for the champaigne that morning, and decided to leave that for the next day! The orange and apple juice was far more preferred considering our night out. A selection of tea was also layed, gotta give them something British too 😛

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

During breakfast we watched the live broadcast of the parade through BT and NRK. Bergen was looking very rainy but Oslo looked a lot brighter! It was lovely watching the parade and explaining all the traditions to my friends. After the parade had ended Steph, Maya and I flicked through photos of different bunads from different districts (link), they are so beautiful. I love that something from a different time in Norway is still so integrated and alive in modern day Norwegian culture. I can’t wait to one day buy one for myself and be the first in my family to embrace the bunad tradition. My kids will deffo have bunads of their own too! I particularly love Fana and the hardanger bunad.

Afterwards Maya, Steph, David and I went for a walk round the lake at UEA and got some photos with the Norwegian flag. I definitely needed that fresh air.

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

The next day we continued the second half of the itineary, where I made them a delicious (if I do say so myself) Bergen Fish Soup, a creamy soup with carrots, spring onions, prawns and salmon, served with garlic bread. It wemt down like a treat and I was so happy my housemates really enjoyed it! I know some of them were skeptical beforehand, but were pleasantly suprised! Afterwards we attempted to watch a Norwegian movie classic called Max Manus, but we couldn’t find it with English subtitles. just before we gave up though we found Head Hunters (Hodejegerne) which turned out to be a really good film! Adrenaline was definitely pumping!

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

17th of May 2015

IMG_20150519_100717

All in all it was a super 17th of May which I am so pleased I got to share with my friends!

2 thoughts on “48 hours of 17th May

Leave a Reply

