Baked avocado and egg

It’s been a while since I have tried some new recipes, however the other day I found myself meandering through different food bloggers posts and felt inspired (and hungry). My mum and I decided we should try a recipe by Julies Matblogg for lunch. It was a really easy recipe in principle, although we struggled to get the whole egg in the cup of the avocado without spilling! I guess practice makes perfect!

Ingredients for 2 people:

  • 2 avocado
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 slices of bacon
  • Spring onion
  • salt and pepper

So all we had to do was cut the avocados in two halves and deepen the hollow section where the stone was to make more room for the egg. Next step was putting the raw egg into the cup, which turned out to be a bit more tricky than first presumed. Also we only had two eggs between us, so we had to make do with only having one each, and filling the other with just the leftover white. My tip would be to make plenty of space for the egg, and maybe dent the underside of the avocado so that it sits firmly on the baking tray. We then added salt and pepper before putting it in the oven for 20 minutes at 180 degrees. In addition to this we chopped the spring onion and bacon which we fried until crispy, and buttered some pieces of bread.

IMG_7899

 

When the avocado was done (we overbaked ours and the egg yolk wasn’t as runny as we had hoped) we sprinkled the spring onion and bacon on top and voila! I really enjoyed it, it tasted like proper comfort food! My mum didn’t like it as much, she wasn’t sure if she liked the consistency of an avocado warm and baked. I would however definitely recommend it, I loved it! Avocado is my favourite fruit (or vegetable??)!

IMG_7908

IMG_7905

IMG_7907

IMG_7906

Leave a Reply

