Chinese day in Sydney

Yesterday our day turned out to be quite Chinese in theme! We had a delightful start to the day with a lazy morning before heading out to the Chinese garden of friendship, a garden symbolizing the friendship between China and Australia. The garden was beautiful, but the tranquillity was lost by the ongoing building construction outside the garden. Also , Peter and I thought dressing up in authentic Chinese outfits for 10 minutes would be “mega lols”, but turned out to be very stressful and I definitely felt very self concious. They were definitely very pretty (especially the headpieces) and some of the other girls trying them  looked gorgeous in them, but I just looked like a twit in a costume. oh well, at least I’ve tried them! I can comfort myself with the fact that at least I know I look good in the Norwegian national costume!

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

Chinese garden of friendship

In the evening Dad, Peter and I went for a Chinese meal in Chinatown and, again, that ended up to be a very stressful experience! My Dad loved it, but I wasn’t terribly impressed with the food as it came out a bit bland and lukewarm, and I was a little scared of our waiter (he was kinda stereotypical Chinese waiter, and very fast paced and abrupt). In addition to this there was still a evident language barrier between us, although the man could speak some English, and we ended up ordering too much food and some wrong dishes! My brother and my Dad did enjoy themselves though, so that was good! I think I was expecting a more relaxed atmosphere and was therefore a bit taken back when it was something else, which my Dad claims is pretty standard for a Chinese restaurant. I did however manage to treck around in my new white heals and skirt, and survived without personal damage, so that was a little win.

Chinese garden of friendship

China Town

China Town

China Town

China Town

Leave a Reply

