Wollongong coast

This Saturday I have spent doing laundry, tidying my room and going for a walk along Wollongong’s central beaches (as well as work, which I will start after I finish this post). I had to go into town anyway, as I needed to get some supplies, and decided to walk down to the beaches and go for a stroll! Did you know Wollongong has 17 beaches? Haha, not complaining! So, my stroll started from Wollongong city beach and tthen onwards towards to the lighthouse. From here you could get a nice view along the entire Wollongong coastline, as well as Port Kembla, the industrial steel town south of Wollongong. By the lighthouse I enjoyed watching a group of kids enjoying their Saturday afternoon body-boarding and surfing, before heading down towards the harbour to see the Pelicans and boats, as well as some nice fish restaurants and a fish market. My international buddy Jennifer told me last week that the Levendi restaurant just along the harbour is one of the local’s favourite places to go for fish and chips, and there was no doubt about that today! Tons of locals were enjoying their take away outside the restaurant, in the sun and looking over the harbour. I definitely need to go there at some point! I continued onwards, past the ocean rock pools, past North Wollongong Beach and to Stuarts Park, before heading home!

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

Wollongong beaches and harbour

 

Apart from that work and having a cold has occupied most of my hours these last weeks, although other more exciting things have happened in-between, including getting free stuff from Campus East (T-shirts etc.), going out with my flatmates Jennifer, Hannicke and their friends (as well as Shawnee, Max and Stevne), signing up for societies at the soc market (including the Illawarra Intrepid Landcare society, UOW Outdoor society & BioNet) as well as being spoilt with international foods from all the ethnic groups and countries’ societies (my favourite was the Pakistani society’s selection!), drinking cider and playing charades with Max, Steven and Shawnee one evening (I don’t think I have laughed so hard in aages), learning about the dream time stories of the indigenous people in Illawarra in my Indigenous class, going to my friend Linzy’s housewarming garden party with a bonfire, and booking myself on to surf camp in two weeks time!

 

Oh and seeing my first huntsman spider!!! That one was more of a terrified excitement than a happy excitement! Genuinely very scared now, I can’t just deny their presence here and pretend they aren’t to be found round here! Apparently they do in fact bite and jump (as in leap from walls if provoked/frightened), and although they are not venomous I would still cry pretty hard if I had one of those latch onto me.

11844100_10200958934412481_1436353635_n

2 thoughts on “Wollongong coast

Leave a Reply

