Throwback: Spain 2012

Reminiscing about the holiday my family and I went on in 2012. I had a different view of holidays back then, just took everything in and had pretty much no idea where we were or where we had to go. All the planning was in the hands of mum and dad, and all my brother and I had to do was see, smell, taste and embrace. I think one of my favourite holidays with my family was the time when we went to mainland Spain. I think it has been the most authentic cultural experience of my life, I barely remember the tourists. It started off in Torremolinos (ok this was probably the most touristy of the places) before seeing (I have no clue of the order) Sevilla, Cordoba and other towns on a roadtrip! When you just have to enjoy, the whole holiday just becomes a blur of beautiful memories. I remember trying octopus for the first time at a tapas bar, walking down beautiful streets of white houses and hanging baskets, with oranges and lemons growing everywhere, enjoying beautiful mullete for breakfast in Sevilla, seeing all the small churches and Maria statues, stroking friendly cats in botanical gardens, and taking in the beautiful local atmosphere during the walks back to the hotel in the evening after a beautiful meal. I was in awe of the beautiful architecture and artwork of the Alcazar in Sevilla and relaxing in their gardens, enjoying a roe in a boat in the waters of Plaza de España, and feeling inspired meandering through the Mezquita in Cordoba. I remember thinking that Spain was beautiful and so much more than a place for Northern Europeans to defrost during winter break. The people there were so friendly and hospitable, and their relaxing attitude is so contagious. They know how to live!

Hotel

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Breakfast in Sevilla

Untitled

Untitled

Torremolinos

Backstreet in Córdoba

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Leave a Reply

