Part 3: Crecent head

The next morning I woke up in the blazing heat (we hadn’t set up our tent in the shade) and sunburn at the Delicate campground at Crecent Head. I had underestimated the Australian sun the day before at Fingal bay, and was now suffering the consequences. After that incident I was lathering sunscreen on like there was no tomorrow. A cold shower was more than welcomed, and after our morning porridge we headed into Crecent head town and took in the sites! We went to the local lighthouse and enjoyed pretty views overlooking the pretty little seaside town and all the meadow flowers, butterflies and other noisy critters (including the cicada insects) flying around. For lunch we had pies at a local pie shop that a man back at camp had highly recommended before returning back to the campsite.

Crecent head

Crecent head

Crecent head

Crecent head

Crecent head

Crecent head

Crecent head

I spent the rest of the afternoon under the shade of the trees whilst the other three headed out for some beach time. To keep my spirits up (distract myself from my burns) I coloured in Max’s colouring book (I promise we’re not five) and went for a little walk to take some photos of the bird life! I spotted and heard the distinct call of the eastern whip bird, and others like the Australasian figbird, the willie wagtail, and the rainbow bee eater. When the gang returned we made dinner (yummy instant noodles) and went to bed!

Delicate Campground

Delicate Campground

Delicate Campground

Delicate campground

Delicate campground

Leave a Reply

