55A/C

If you were to ask me what my favourite moment from living in Australia has been, I am pretty sure you would be disappointed with my answer. Of course, I could list a whole bunch of unique, inspiring, exhilarating and thrilling moments from my time here, but I would be lying if I said that any of them were my absolute favourite. In fact, my favourite thing about living in Australia has been… taking the bus. The BUS? You are probably thinking how on earth such a trivial activity like taking the daily commute on public transport has become my favourite thing about such a unique, exotic country like Australia, with so much to offer. Hear me out okay? I promise there is some logic to this madness!

I realized the other day that the thing I looked forward to most about my day was to get on the bus. To and from uni, to and from the supermarket, to and from friends. I have been doing it every day for the last couple of months, and the experience has just been more and more thoroughly enjoyed each time I have done it. I think I am getting to a point where I actually need my bus ride for the day. What I love the most is the fact that my timetable hasn’t coincided with anybody else’s timetables, and so I never meet anyone on the bus stop that I have to talk to on the journey, especially in the mornings. I spend those 15 minutes of travelling, isolated from the world through my headphones, watching life go by out the window, and the people coming and going through the bus doors. It’s my moment of complete alone time (despite the bus always being full of people). Time to just sit, think and breath. Despite all the pressure of uni and work, I realized that on the bus, there is nothing I can do about it in that moment, so I might as well just not think about that. Press pause on life and click play on music. I listen to music that mirror my emotions on that day. Fully commit to the music, hearing every beat, sound and musical layer, appreciating the complexness of the song and it’s creation, and thinking about every instrument and noise that the artist wanted to be have there, and wondering for what reason. Feeling the momentum build up or down. Feeling your heart and spirit rise and fall as a result. Thinking about nothing or everything. It’s the only time I am forced to confront myself, to deal and work through questions that have been so easy to shove away. I know it’s so cliché, but I came to Australia to have a break, work on me, and find a bit more peace with myself. I think I found that peace on the 55A/C bus.

Snapchat-9219186921419074506

Leave a Reply

