Back in Fjord Country

Sorry for zero updates for so long. It feels like I arrived back home yesterday, but it also feels like it’s been several months. I’ve let me mind go to complete mush, and so my spatial and temporal awareness has gone to absolute pot. It’s been so nice though, walking around, my mind in a state of bliss, almost dazed with mellowness and apathy. I’ve barely kept track of days, and I have spent hours doing absolutely nothing, just scrolling through my Facebook feed, watching TV or sleeping. I can’t even muster enough energy to draw or read a book. I’ve done nothing, but God how divine that has been. I’ve got another couple of weeks before I go back to uni though, so I still have some time to “get my life back together” and do something productive with my free time.

The journey back home to Bergen was actual hell, with a 6 hour bus ride on the National Express, a 5 hour wait at the airport and a 2 hour flight. The bus ride was surprisingly pleasant though, as I spent the full 6 hours listening to music, with the exception of an hour talking to an old, sweet american lady characterized by her Chinese medicine practices and anti-vaccine attitudes. An interesting conversation, as you might expect, and although personally I disagreed majorly with some of here statements, I didn’t say anything and enjoyed immersing myself in the thoughts and beliefs of a totally different human being to myself. She spoke lovingly of travel, people she met and life philosophy, and so putting up with her “anti science and anti vaccine” talks was a breeze. Also it was 3 am in the morning, so any company was appreciated. By the airport I felt the lack of sleep on the bus hit me like an actual bus, and trying to stay awake and fairly alert was perhaps one of the most intense tasks I have ever faced in my life. I do believe at one point I passed out on a lounge chair, as it felt like I had been hit by a truck when I woke up again. Finally the plane arrived, and after the gate info board played games with me for a good 20 minutes I made it the desk and boarded the plane. After a heavy sleep on the plane the plane reached the outskirts of Bergen, and we proceeded to drop bellow the thick clouds into the dark and gloomy landscape that is my home. As we sank towards the ground I sang my traditional “Eg vil til Bergen” song under my breath and peered out onto the little islands on the fjords. The landing was rough and windy, but I always enjoy those the most. It’s like Bergen’s personal way of welcoming me back home. As the day went on the winds turned into raging storms, and within a couple of days the storms got the name “Urd”.

15535453_608158499378448_2052802124751831040_n

My favourite thing about coming home again is seeing all my wonderful friends. This time I got to out into town with my favourite girl Karoline on her Birthday, as well as with my lovely Kirkevoll “jentegjeng”. I also have spent some time with Inger before she travelled to her Hytte/New Zealand holiday. We enjoyed a walk on Fløyen on one day, and a Norwegian brunch before she left for NZ. I also went to the superb Pepperkakebyen with my friend Yasmin and finally felt that Christmas spirit that had been lacking for so long. The pepperkake byen was spectacular, and the layout was accurate beyond belief! The bybane, the bridges, the bryggen, the Aquarium and the houses. Everything exactly where it should be. There was even a Mcdonalds on the corner of Kong Oscar’s gate, bellow the Fløybanen, that made both Yasmin and I laugh. After walking around and spotting all the important buildings, we sat down for a drink of Julebrus and watched the kids sliding on a massive slide. It was quite amusing, especially when a parent joined in with their kids. Sometimes, it looked like the parent was having more fun than the kids!

15623580_241523562951446_1935177216920911872_n 15623830_719125334918307_3826223125184380928_n15275668_1734238703570101_657644434585812992_n

img_20161231_133610_041 img_20161229_201622_092 img_20161229_201924_006

Christmas 2016

As for Christmas, we followed tradition and crammed ourselves in our parents bed and opened our stocking presents before spending the rest of the afternoon eating and opening presents. The Christmas meal was so delicious, I can’t even describe how wonderful it was. Foodie highlight of the year.

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

Christmas 2016

The weather over the holidays so far has been a massive dissapointment. It’s been stormy, wet, windy, and grey, and the mildest winter I can remember for a long, long time. Alarmingly so. The ground is constantly soggy and there hasn’t been a hint of snow, apart from on Christmas eve, when it snowed/rained for about half a day. According to the forecast, the weather is going to drop this week and I am crossing my fingers for some dry days with some real snow. The lake hasn’t frozen over at all this year, and the whooper swans are no where to be seen. If they came before I left again, I would be over the moon.

14488235_374496226275488_1356194562900492288_n

Leave a Reply

