Eidfjord Roadtrip and Social Evolution worries

I’ve been home just over a week now, and on Tuesday Mum and I went on a little roadtrip to Eidfjord for an interview about a summer job at the Hardangerfjord Natursenter. I’m hoping to hear back by Friday with good news, I would be so thrilled as it’s such a dream job. I’m not going to say anymore though, I don’t want to jynx it. For our roadtrip we were blessed with beautiful weather was that day, a little moment of relief in between all the days of low lying clouds and rain we’ve had so far. On our way there we wanted to be quick and with no delays, so we drove the “fast” route via Voss. However, after I had had my interview we decided to drive home along the spectacular Hardangerfjord towards Norheimsund and then over the still snowy Kvamskogen before driving along Bjørnafjorden to Os and eventually our house. There are so many stunning locations along the fjord, and so many beautiful houses. I would love to have a house by the fjord, with a little boat and a tiny barn, and just live the simple life there in the peace and quiet (what am I, 80?). We stopped at several locations on route, whereby one of them had a sign advertising the local area with a picture from a house we actually recognised as somewhere we had spent several holidays at when I was younger. Inspired by this we decided to make a detour to take a trip down memory lane and visit said location in Fyksesund. It was exactly as I remembered it, but even more beautiful. I never appreciated how incredibly quiet and serene the place was when I was younger, or how gorgeous the houses were. It had both a main house, two boat houses (both a “modern” one and an old one) and a little barn. It’s tucked away with it’s own little beach and surrounded by steep, terraced fields. Out on the fjord some seagulls were diving into the water for fish, and above a apple-farmer with his tractor tidying his fields in preparation for the spring. The memories of painting Easter eggs on the bench and fishing in the boat resurfaced as we stood there taking it all in again.

The last two days I have been trying to read for my social evolution essay on reciprocity. Right now I am a bit deflated.. It’s all come to a bit of a hault.. It turns out the topic was far more complicated than I first thought, as I had misunderstood some of the concepts. Still got a week to write it though, so should be ok as long as I work hard over the weekend. I’m baffled as to where I shall fit in writing up my Science communication portfolio and Dissertion among all this too… I guess I will see how I am doing by Sunday and plan a more effective study plan for the following week. I am a little annoyed that I let myself have such a long break when I first got home. I’ve been good and not distracted myself with hanging out with friends this Easter though. I only saw Eidi yesterday evening for the first time since my return. It was as always lovely to see her, and we caught up on all the latest news as well as helped Eline with her English homework before I went home for an early night. Tomorrow I think Mum and I are planning a trip to IKEA as we are picking up her car that’s been in at the garage nearby.

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Eidfjord roadtrip

Leave a Reply

