The smell of salmon

Weird title I know, but right now I am sitting in the living room, with the most gorgeous sunshine pouring through the windows and the most enticing smell of salmon, chives and new potatoes coming from the kitchen. We’ve had the loveliest day. The light bright feeling of spring has finally arrived in Bergen. This morning we ran around the garden looking for Easter eggs before pushing the boat back down to the lake for the summer. Dad and mum went for a little row around the lake whilst I sat in the damp grass on the hillside looking out on them and the view, before swapping with mum and having a little boat trip myself.

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Easter

Edit: I didn’t finish this post yesterday as intended and now I am at Flesland Airport and it’s currently 6 am. I’ve just had the most expensive piece of toast and grapefruit vitamin water in my life from the cafe in the international departures, but I feel content. I needed something before I board the plane or I might end up fainting (melodramatic). I’m so sad to leave. The next couple of months are going to be nothing short of hell for me, assignment upon assignment. I hate it so much, I don’t feel good enough and it’s always a struggle to do work and motivate myself when I have no faith in my ability. Just under 8 weeks left though, and then it will all be over forever (or until I decided to do all of this again). Easter has been great though. As expected, I’ve had a total of about 5 days of sunshine over the last three weeks, but I couldn’t have been happier to be home. The best news of all was that I got the job at Hardangerfjord Natursenter, and will be hopefully starting in the middle of June. All that’s left now is to sign a contract and get some accommodation! In not so great news, I didn’t really have much opportunity to hang out with my friends this Easter. Being home was all I needed though, and I did make time for one or two small catch ups in the evenings, including a “light” walk up Løvstakken with Eidi and Malin in the nice weather. On the walk I met Kristin (met in Australia and who I visited in the summer in Oslo) on the way back down. We arranged to see each other a couple of days later, which was in the nick of time, as she was heading back to Oslo shortly after. In return for driving her to the airport she gave me an egg with sweeties, which I wasn’t expecting and which brightened my day. The following week I went for a “Taco-Kveld” with my girlfriends from videregående, and got to catch up with some of them which I hadn’t seen for years. Later that week I spent the evening with Maria and Karoline, as they hadn’t been able to make it to the girls-night. The three of us hanging out made me realise how much I missed them and couldn’t wait to move back home again. Lastly I popped by Eidi’s yesterday evening, to say goodbye to her, aswell as Yasmin and Malin, and together we watched the full episode of Skam before getting an early night.

Oh and of course lots of cuddles and weird selfies with Molly.

2 thoughts on “The smell of salmon

  1. Så fint og vårlig det var i Bergensområdet! Ser nesten ut som det gjør her i nord lang utti mai. Her ligger innsjøene fortsatt under is for det meste.

    God tur tilbake, og gratulerer så masse med ny jobb! 😀

Leave a Reply

