The prettiest place I will ever live

What a day!! It was an early start this morning, loading my car with all my stuff and having breakfast before setting off towards Eidfjord to start my new summer job! The drive was nice, with no delays and quiet roads. I arrived at the Hardangerfjord nature centre at around 12 o’clock and met with Oddvar. He introduced me to some very lovely people in the gift shop and the restaurant, where one of the employees seemed incredibly enthusiastic to see me and knew about me, so I am guessing I will probably be working with her there. Oddvar then took me down to my new apartment, back down in Nedre Eidfjord. I was so pleased when I entered into my new apartment, it is absolutely gorgeous, with fully furnished rooms and a cosy atmosphere. The best thing of all though, the view out onto the fjord.

IMG_0590

IMG_0592

IMG_0587

IMG_0598

IMG_0593

IMG_0572

IMG_0576

IMG_0586

IMG_0568

IMG_0596

IMG_0594

IMG_0595

IMG_0575a

IMG_0580a

IMG_0601

In the afternoon I went into town to do some shopping and to check out what Eidfjord town centre had to offer. It’s definitely a small place, with two shops, a petrol station, a hairdresser, a couple of gifts shops and a couple of cafes, all found within a 50 meter radius. On the quay a massive cruise ship is currently moored, probably containing more passengers than in the whole town itself. I noticed how the whole town works in waves, their businesses depending on the tourists coming off the cruise ships and busses at set intervals. It’s still very peaceful though, the tourists here are far more respectful and civilised compared to for example the tourists in Magaluf. They sort of just walk peacefully around and take pictures of the fjords, look in the shops and generally are just taking the different atmosphere in, trying not to be in the way or annoying. It is sort of cute seeing all of them looking around at all us “locals” doing our daily business, for example, I had a pair of Asian tourists watch me slice my bread through the slice machine in the shop, and I couldn’t help but smile.

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

The house seen from the road. On the second photo you can see the door leading into the flat.

After speaking with my landlord, a charming middle-aged woman with a husband from Bergen, I decided to take advantage of the sunny weather and went for a walk along Simadalsvegen. The walk took my breath away. Just a 5 minute walk from the town centre and suddenly you feel like you are in a secrete little piece of heaven on earth, so quiet and unspoiled. The sounds were a treat in themselves; the occasional Spanish chatter from the odd tourist couple or two that had dared to venture out of sight of the cruise-ship and the occasional by-passing car, but apart from that the sound of silence, waterfalls and birds. For the eyes bright green birch trees swaying in the wind, tall delicate grasses and meadow flowers growing alongside the narrow road, little tiny beaches that made me excited for warmer weather and a chance to dip into the deep blue-green waters, and of course plumeting rock faces so tall I had to tilt my head back to see their tops. I think I will do just fine here, the prettiest place I will ever live in, I am sure of it.

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen
Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Eidfjord - Simadalsvegen

Back at the flat I made myself some Mexican fajitas and a load more for the following days. I accidentally drank a rhubarb cider way to fast and now I feel slightly drowsy, in a good way. I start at work tomorrow at 9, so I shall try and get an early night. I am afraid I might not get too much sleep tonight, as I will be both nervous and excited, but hopefully this cider has done the trick. Haha.

Leave a Reply

