Swimming in the fjords and getting sick

So after my hike with Saara to Viveli I headed back down into Eidfjord where I greeted my friend Ole who had come up to visit me and the town. Since it was such a gorgeous day and I was still currently very sweaty from the hike we decided to go to the local beach and have a dip in the water. We dived into the icy fjord from the diving board and as I emerged to the surface I screamed in both pain and bliss, as it was thrilling yet the coldest water I have ever encountered for swimming. The rest of the afternoon we spent lying on the rocks, eating watermelon and drinking cider. Later that evening we ate pizza and salad on my landlord’s terrace looking out on the fjord. Over yummy food, more cider and beer we watched the sun set. As we did we listened to generic pop music with the occasional must-listen.to Postgirobygget songs and talked about nothing of importance. Bliss. The next day we went on a roadtrip over the Hardangervidda to Halne Fjellstova where we had burgers for lunch before picking up Saara in Kinsarvik after her two day hike, and having her tell us all about it. In the evening Ole and I became addicted to the show Bob’s Burgers Ole left for Ulvik to stay the night at his brother’s house and I went to bed.

Hardangervidda biltur med Ole

Hardangervidda biltur med Ole

Hardangervidda biltur med Ole

The next day I felt a little unwell (my throat had been soar all week so I should have seen this coming), but not enough to justify asking for a sick day, so I dragged myself to work and tried my best. After work I went to the beach again, as it was almost 28 degrees. I did a little sunbathing to relax and try and potentially fry off this illness. As blissful as it was I was still unsuccessful in defeating the cold and by the next morning, aka today, I had to call in sick after a sleepless night of coughing attacks, achy muscles and an overheating body. Luckily it was a fairy quiet day at work that day and so having the day off was no problem, as there was –still 3 people that would be holding the fort. It’s 8 o’clock now, and after a whole day of resting my throat, regaining my voice and healing my body I feel 70 % ready for work tomorrow! Wish my luck!

Bading i Eidfjord

Bading i Eidfjord

Bading i Eidfjord

Bading i Eidfjord

Bading i Eidfjord

Bading i Eidfjord

Leave a Reply

