Shopping in Voss and Odda

This week’s days off have been dedicated to running errands and shopping for stuff I’ve needed. Firstly, on Tuesday I needed to get a new charger for my computer because my old one broke, and so I headed over the Hardanger bridge to the hustle and bustle of Voss. Before I used to think Voss was such a small “in the middle of nowhere” town, but now I realise it’s becoming the sort of capital of the inner western Norway. After stopping for some lunch in Voss after my successful trip to Elkjøp I stopped by Skjervsfossen, just outside Granvin, on my back home to Eidfjord. A very spectacular waterfall with viewing platforms from both the top and bottom. Very convenient when I was feeling tired and lazy.

Skjervsfossen

Skjervsfossen

Skjervsfossen

Skjervsfossen

Skjervsfossen

On Friday I rushed to Odda in search of a graduation dress. Luckily the Gods were on my side and I managed to find a good fitting, appropriately formal, summer wearing, grad gown colour matching and ecology degree symbolic dress for a reasonable price. Praise Jesus for that luck because it was basically one of only two dresses I found that would match all those criteria in the small town of Odda that probably owned like 6 dresses in total anyway. If I am being completely honest I think my arms look incredibly fat in them, but then I think that’s really my fault and not the dress. I think I would have had that problem in any dress, so I am going to have to deal with it and remember that no one gives a damn about my arms.

As for the town of Odda I wasn’t too impressed for my first visit. It was very industrial and not very pedestrian. I did like the church and beautiful statue of the fjording though. Probably the best horse statue I have ever seen. I thought it summarised the town very well too, the working man’s horse of Norway standing proud. I loved that it’s back was glossy and gold from all the kids wanting to sit on it. I would imagine if I was appropriately aged I would have asked my parents to have lifted me up (I mean I really wanted to on the day, but I know my place in the world 😛 ).

Odda

Odda

Odda

Leave a Reply

